Let’s dialog #1| You love him, should you lower your standards?

Hello WP fam! It’s weekend again!! I decided to make this week conversational based on the discussion I had with a friend of mine with 100% permission from her. I would be revealing people’s views, my own and would like to know what you also think.

While talking about relationships, one of my friends said and I quote, “I feel choked already, I have given him everything, changed all I could, I can’t even recognize myself anymore, I am becoming “miss nobody” for him, yet he still feels intimidated by me, sometimes bringing up unnecessary issues and turning it to a fights, I love him so much but what else does he want from me? What should I do? If it was you what would you have done?” as she turned to me for response.

Honestly, my first thought was, “what kind of a man would want you to lower your standards because of him?” I can’t remember exactly my words to her but my main point was that I can’t be with a man that expects me to lessen myself to elevate his ego or for him to feel comfortable enough with me.

It is normal for everyone to set a particular standards for themselves when it comes to any area of their lives including relationships just to put our search on a more focused and narrowed level rather than anything that comes our way and it must have taken time, effort and years to put together or reach that point.

Screenshot_2017-04-20-07-13-21_1

 

Excluding those that set unrealistic standards for themselves, settling for what is lower than your standards is basically saying goodbyes to your happiness in some way and you stand a chance of remaining miserable and will be choked at some point in that relationship.

Here are views from my Facebook fam

 

 

 

 

 

 

Check for more comments https://m.facebook.com/abimbola.debbybaby?lst=100000488548428:100000488548428:1492521692&pn_ref=story&fref=nf&ref=bookmarks

Finally, if you have set a realistic and not movie or vague standards for yourself, put them first and let him meet those standards for your sake because you are so worth it. If he doesn’t want to, take to your heels. When the right guy comes you will be glad you did.

 

Is it true that if you don’t lower your standards, you will not be able to find a man because he will feel intimidated at some points? What’s your take on this? Have you had to lower your standards for someone you love before?

 

Xoxo

Somes Pic from Google images